EASTERN. STANDARD. KITCHEN. DRINK. BOSTON.

Hi. My name is Valentina. I really like Twitter, the Spice Girls, and EASTERN STANDARD.

This is a long overdue post, referring to my open and unashamed INFATUATION with Eastern Standard, the Restaurant and Bar in Kenmore Square.

My first time at ESKD (@ESKDBoston) was with my dear friend Will, as we channeled out inner Chuck and Blair, and since then I have frequented the place to the point of absurdity. I’ve been joined by many a good friend here since I started school at BU (shoutouts to BostonTweet, Dan, Sean, Jessie, Hilary, Vorhaus, Nic, Whittney, and Kelly Walter). ESKD is just under the Hotel Commonwealth, and is considered a BU-owned establishment somehow, not sure how, but BU is an empire of glory, so DAH.

Eastern Standard

Eastern Standard, in Kenmore Square, right next to 7/11.

After months of worship to Garrett, the proprietor (whatever that means, but doesn’t it sound just GLORIOUS?!), blueberry thrills, aviations, and the STEAK TAR TARE, imagine my utter delight, glee, and salivating excitement when as a part of the biannual BU Dining Service “Visiting Chef Series,” I learned that EASTERN STANDARD would be featured in the dhalls across campus on April 8th! My phone and twitter was blowing up with exclamation points, to say the least.

Garrett, the God.

Follow/ worship @GarrettHarker, THE PROPRIETOR/ silver fox

I had actually dined there the night of April 7th. Yanks-Sox, Kenmore Square, a blueberry thrill in hand. OH, I WAS IN MY HAPPY PLACE.

Some features of the restaurant I absolutely adore:

food menu

Late Night menu, aside from THE MIRROR

cocktail menus

try an Aviation, you WON'T be sorry.

old cuban

A classic, and a BostonTweet Favorite.

oeuf

renowned for the OEUF OPTIONS

blueberry thrill

Hating blueberries, as I do, is not an excuse.

harvey

Harvey, the picture guarding the restrooms, is my best friend too, Elwood!

cocktailored love

Candle-lit Aviation & Blueberry Thrill. The perfect pair.

real cheese plate

Hilary's REAL cheese plate, Jessie likes the 60's mom one, with Ritz. gross.

flatbread

Server Melissa brought us this olive flatbread on Wednesday. It was great to see ADPi alum Dani S too!

An account of the EPIC Dining Hall meal, INSPIRED by the above magic:

menu

menu

Apparently, the menu was created by “Chef Richard Morin from Eastern Standard and Chef Anthony Marco from Lineage.”

antipasto

antipasto plate

salad

Beet, Whipped Goat Cheese, and Arugula Salad w Candied Walnuts. LOVED. and was surprised by this love.

couscouse

Couscous and Spring Vegetable Salad with Citrus Vinaigrette. yum.

scallop

Seared Diver Scallop w Green Lentil Mirepoix. Yes, a little rubbery. But it WAS the dining hall. It was good for a fatty scallop! I loved.

chicken

Confit Chicken w Asparagus & Shaved Fennel Salad. Nothing too special, but I LOVE FENNEL.

bread pudding

Butterscotch Bread Pudding. A classic at the restaurant, & a HIT at the Dhall. I don't like butterscotch. or bread pudding. but this was AMAZING, even on an overly-stuffed stomach!

So though I was ready to explode by my 6:00 class, for Eastern Standard ’twas well worth it. I loved the merging of Eastern Standard and BU, two of my greatest loves!

Correction: aviation cherries are soaked in bourbon, not gin.

3 responses to “EASTERN. STANDARD. KITCHEN. DRINK. BOSTON.

  1. Pingback: Eastern Standard: Boston, MA | makelovetotheworld

  2. Pingback: ValenTEA Party

  3. Pingback: le fin d’09-10 « ValenTEA Party

Leave a Reply

