A Pomp Circumstance

As a Student Admissions Representative for BU, I was honored with the ability to extend my housing so as to assist with the commencement festivities on campus, watch my senior friends graduate (#sadface), AND MOST SPLENDOROUSLY: help with/ get to go to the President’s Reception after the commencement ceremony.

On Sunday I, and my fellow select Admissions Ambassadors, spent the early morning at Marsh Chapel for the Baccalaureate ceremony. I, the token Jew, always end up at these graduation ceremonies. Happened in high school, and I am pleased that it continues ‘cause choir chords and harmonization turn me on. Period.

Marsh Chapel

Admissions Ambassador John, who attended an all-boys Catholic high school (I think it was Catholic. I could be wrong, and very well may be. I know it wasn’t a Jewish grade school. It was a Jesus high school. I really am not qualified to classify it as Catholic or not, this information is from conversational memory…) also assisted with the Baccalaureate and was much more at home beneath the stained glass and organ than I. Though I think I have officially spent more recent time in churches than in synagogues.

President's Host John looking irrationally at home directing Trustee traffic into pews

Attire: green blazers circa 1989. I wish they felt cleaner, but I do NOT think are so fashionably horrendous! Look, Admissions Office folk- they’re very Ralph Lauren with the little patch and gold buttons. I like mine and may not return it…

So I proudly donned my blazer, and after spending two hours near the entrance to the chapel saying “Yes, the restrooms are just downstairs” to many a trustee and graduating family, we (John, Victoria, and myself) strolled up Commonwealth Avenue to grab lunch at Panera. YUM.

I ordered a variation of Panera’s Mediterranean sandwich, and now is where I rant about the incompetence of every Panera I have ever been to.

SOME PEOPLE DO NOT LIKE MOZZERLLA MELTED ON SANDWICHES. MOZZERELLA CHEESE, YES, IS DELCIOUS WHEN MELTED AT TIMES, BUT NOT EVERYONE LIKES IT MELTED WHEN IT IS 90 DEGREES OUTSIDE. I ALSO LIKE TOMATOES COLD ON MY SANDWICHES. SO, WHEN I ORDER A SANDWICH AND REPEATEDLY SPECIFY UNTOASTED– PLEASE DO NOT TEST MY TOLERANCE BY TOASTING IT. I WILLLLLLLLLLL REQUEST AN UNTOASTED SANDWICH. End rant.

After finishing my properly formed sandwich, it was almost 1:00, time for the commencement ceremony to begin! How to snatch great seats? Don a green blazer and you can officially get away with anything. CATCH ME IF YOU CAN PHILOSOPHY 101: the Yankees always win cause of the pinstripes and Frank Abagnale Jr. got through the Miami airport because he those SEXY flight attendants. (love that movie, obvs.)

CLASSIC.

Shuffling our way through the crowds with excuse mes and directing attention to our patches that read “President’s Host” folks REALLY took us seriously. As society should always. We snagged spots right on the field and were at a perfect angle to snap pics of the graduates!

To be honest, a major reason I attended commencement was so I could check into Nickerson Field on Foursquare and get myself that SWARM BADGE!

AT LONG LAST!

I first got the “Player Please” badge for checking in with a certain number of guys, I guess, and THEN 50+ users checked in and I at long last got myself a swarm! Life goal: check.

BU, in a blatant and ultimately successful attempt to grab press attention, invited the class of 1970 back to have a proper commencement ceremony. Because of Kent State, the class of 1970 never had a commencement ceremony, and many hippies returned to campus to walk out peace signing and still burnt out from their time as college kids in the 60s.

1970 grads

Then, a COM senior spoke and spewed every possible graduation speech cliché imaginable. Leaving out Dr. Seuss and “roads less traveled,” the student speaker continued the irrationally racially fueled theme of the ceremony. Every speaker somehow mentioned race. I know Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. is our most famous graduate, but COME ON. BU has many, many other amazing and epic talking points. Thanks.

The 2010 Class Gift Campaign raised $60,000, the most yet! If that money went to one student he or she could pay for one full year at BU and STILL have money left to buy books! (sarcasm from bitter college student during a recession…)

ANDDDDD Jon Scagos explained that the podium was ugly and undecorated and not ornate because it was BULLETPROOF (please sing this word a la La Roux)

grand entrance

All of the honored degree recipients were wildly reputable and impressive. These people were involved with Brown V. Bd of Ed, HIV and AIDS research, and OH YEA ERIC H. HOLDER, JR., THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA spoke!

Attorney General Holder

We had to dash to President Robert Brown’s home in Brookline for his reception, so I had to follow Holder’s speech via twitter, but APPARENTLY, he was terrific and referenced Allston parties, StuVi 2, and really had someone do his homework for him. Well done.

The President’s home is called “Sloane House,” and it is a wonderful land that explains why Boston University tuition pricing looks like a phone number. The first floor is “mainly for entertaining” and is Modern American Marie-Antoinette chic. The four Admissions Ambassadors had VERY CHALLENGING DUTIES. These included and were limited to standing in the foyer saying “restrooms are the second door on your left.”

Sloane House den

WE MET ERIC HOLDER AND I HAD A WHOLE CONVERSATION WITH THE ATTORNEY GENERAL WHEN HE ASKED WHO WE WERE AND I EXPLAINED WE WERE PRESIDENT’S HOSTS AND HE WAS SPEAKING TO ME AND US AND HE IS THE ATTORNEY GENERAL. It was a neat moment. His wife looks like an attractive him. They have the same haircut.

By 5:30 the important tru$tee$ and major gue$t$ had left and we were permitted to mingle among the elite as we hopped outside and devoured all that was left of the catering. Cheese bar- WIN. Mussels- WIN. Seabass. Baguettes. Escargot. Filet Mignon. Brussel Sprouts. WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN! Very very very yummy, Panera could learn a thing or two from Catering on the Charles.

Sloane House dining room

And then I went back to real life, and my dorm where I would continue to procrastinate packing…

CONGRATS TO THE CLASS OF 2010, I LOVE YOU ALL AND YOU WILL BE SORELY MISSED AND BU WILL HAVE A GAPING HOLE WHERE YOU LEFT. CONGRATS CONGRATS LOVE LOVE AND LUCK AND BLESSINGS (from Moses AND Jesus).

One response to “A Pomp Circumstance

  1. Pingback: le fin d’09-10 « ValenTEA Party

Leave a Reply

