Bryant Park Summer Film Festival

Bryant Park, one of my favorite New York time-killing spots (when I have time to kill) offers the (HBO) Summer Film Festival every Monday night June-August.

It’s a GREAT and magical time, where movies start at sundown on the lawn, and people line up, blankets and picnics in hand, by 4pm. Suggestions so you’re not jealous of others’ perfect picnics: wine. brie. hummus. grapes.

I went to see Monty Python and the Holy Grail with my boyfauxriend Greggy, and subsequently made a quick run to snag food, so as to not be overcome with jealousy at the look of everyone’s bags of Trader Joe’s organic glory.

The movie started with a Looney Tunes Pepe Le Peu short, which was probably my favorite thing of all time, and of course I loved watching Python with a crowd of people all anxiously waiting the same epic lines. “Help! Help! I’m being repressed!”

The whole experience is delightfully “summer in Manhattan,” and there’s always a cultured selection of films playing week-to-week. I highly recommend.

 

Leave a Reply

