#hailhashtags

In high school I joined indoor track and race-walked so I could have athletics on my college resume and appear well rounded. Sports? Not my thing. Hashtags? Something I can get on board with.

Mississippi State painted a #hailstate hashtag in their end zone for a big game and HOLY HASHTAG this is brilliant. The idea is so obvious and it had never been done before! I don’t really follow baseball (that was a joke that some people may not know that I know was a joke, and end zones are for soccer football, obviously, and I knew all that before coming across this story).

This is an AMAZING way for fans at the game and at home to follow along and promote the hashtag and the game.  It’s the first time I have ever felt left out coming from a football-less school.  We can be sure to see this start happening in professional sports and all over the place. With foursquare event check ins as well, the social experience at sporting events (and all events) is sure to expand in the coming months exponentially. I raise my teacup to you, Mississippi State Bulldogs. Brava. #HAILSTATE

Leave a comment